critisism on the manual of TS Doctor

Begonnen von Oldman13, Juli 15, 2016, 08:33:47

« vorheriges - nächstes »

Oldman13

I have critisism on the manual of TS Doctor.

First, I am not an expert on video, audio, codices and so on but I am not a complete newbie either. I have a TS stream, recorded by a satellite receiver. What I want is: cutting the stream, cleaning the stream AND IMPROVE warnings/errors segments, if possible and playing the resulting file with my mediaplayer. TS Doctor promises: "Die Aufnahmen werden überprüft und repariert". Cutting the stream, cleaning the stream and finding the timelocations of irregularities (warnings, errors) are well described and easily found. However, no word about how to repair warning/error segments. Is that possible? And if yes, how?
I found out that the subjective impression of warning/error parts is strongly affected by the mediaplayer used. The term for that is error concealment. Alas, my loved mediaplayer (Kodi) performs not well in this respect. Warning segments are clearly shown by that player, not to talk about error segments.
I discovered that by converting the TS stream to an mp4 file in TS Doctor, the subjective impression of the warning/error segments has considerably improved. No idea whether the error concealment of Kodi is better for an mp4 file than for a TS file or that the repair action of TS Doctor is hidden behind a conversion. No idea why my TS file is 25 fps and the mp4 file 49 fps. Purpose, accident? Or are there adjustable settings possible for the conversion? I did not find them.
In the preferenes section there are a lot of settings not explained in the manual. Only of interest for the real expert? And for the first time I saw the terms mux/remux. I needed Wikipedia to find out what it is. What it is and how to use it is not described in the manual.
I think TS Doctor is a very good programme, with more possibilities than you may think. But the manual is then of no help.